Happy Chaitra Navratri 2018 – Celebrations and Significance

The auspicious Hindus festival Chaitra Navratri, the nine-day festival starts on the first day of Hindu lunar calendar in the month of March and April every year.

The festival marks the worshiping of nine incarnations of Goddess Maa Durga Devi or Goddess Shakti.  The Hindu lunar calendar signifies the celebrations in the month of Chaitra, which is also known as beginning   of New Year.

The festival is celebrated with zeal in all the parts of Northern and Western India.  Based on different beliefs, there are 18 different Shakti Peethas which are also known as holy places of cosmic power consecrated to the Goddess Shakti showered throughout the India are worshipped by the devotees.

According to Hindu Vedic panchang following is the calendar to worship nine Shakti Peethas and get the blessings during Chaitra Navratri

Navratri (Day 1)- 18th March 2018 – Sunday (Pratipada) Ghatasthapana – Shailputri Puja
(Day 2)- 19th March 2018 (Dwitiya) Brahmacharini Puja
(Day 3)- 20th March 2018 (Tritiya) Chandraghanta Puja
(Day 4)- 21th March 2018 (Chaturthi) Kushmanda Puja
(Day 5 )- 22nd March 2018  (Panchami) Skandamata Puja
(Day 6)-  23rd March 2018 (Shashti) Katyayani Puja
(Day 7)- 24th March 2018 (Saptami) Kalratri Puja
(Day 8)- 25th March 2018 (Ashtami) Mahagauri Puja , Ramnavmi
(Day 9) – 26th March 2018 (Navmi) Navaratri Parana


Author: Abhishek Soni

Leave a Reply