No products in the cart.

Understanding Nakshatra in Vedic Astrology

  • Posted by: Abhishek Soni
  • Category: All About Astrology, Nakshatra

Nakshatra, is the Sanskrit term as per Hindu Vedic calendar or panchang. During ancient period well-known sages or gurus have divided all the 12 zodiac signs also known as Rashis into 27 Nakshatras which also means constellations of 13.20 degree in size each when measured from fixed starting point. The zodiac circle comprises of 360 degrees in the universe.

As per ancient vedic puranas and Hindu mythology all these 27 Nakshatra represent the daughters of King Daksha. Planet Moon is married to all the 27 Nakshatra.  As per mythological significance Moon spends one day approximately with each Nakshatra.

All 27 Nakshatra plays significant role in native’s horoscope depending upon the date of birth and time as they are classified into various attributes such as Lord Planet, deity, Sex and many more.

Moreover they are further subdivided into different Padas, which is used to determine the name of native (starting alphabet letter)

In Jyotish Shastra or Vedic Astrology, Nakshatra symbolizes accurate interpretation and predictions respect to position of moon at the time of birth in horoscopes.

This reading further helps to determine Lord of Nakshatra which in turn helps to determine nature, behavior, ascendant temperament in particular dasha or mahadasha in native’s horoscope.

Following is the List of 27 Nakshatras

  1. Ashvini Nakshatra
  2. Bharani Nakshatra
  3. Krittika Nakshatra
  4. Rohini Nakshatra
  5. Mrigashira Nakshatra
  6. Ardra Nakshatra
  7. Punarvasu Nakshatra
  8. Pushya Nakshatra
  9. Ashlesha Nakshatra
  10. Magha Nakshatra
  11. Purva Phalguni Nakshatra
  12. Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra
  13. Hasta Nakshatra
  14. Chitra Nakshatra
  15. Swati Nakshatra
  16. Vishakha Nakshatra
  17. Anuradha Nakshatra
  18. Jyestha Nakshatra
  19. Mula Nakshatra
  20. Purva Ashadha Nakshatra
  21. Uttar Ashadha Nakshatra
  22. Sharvana Nakshatra
  23. Dhanistha Nakshatra
  24. Shatabhisha Nakshatra
  25. Purva Bhadra Nakshatra
  26. Uttrara Bhadra Nakshatra
  27. Revati Nakshatra


Author: Abhishek Soni

Leave a Reply